What's new

Roundabouts

tokyospur

Cruising
May 9, 2010
Apparently the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport has commissioned a group to look at introducing roundabouts into Japan. It was formed early in September. I can`t find anything in English but there`s some interesting stuff in Japanese here:http://www.mlit.go.jp/road/ir/ir-council/roundabout/doc01.html

Presumably they will look at the safety issues, traffic flow and also the earthquake/ tsunami evacuation benefits (stories of people stopping at lights and level crossings instead of getting to safety). I cannot imagine though the carnage which would ensue when first introduced here - there would have to be a massive education campaign for sure.
http://www.mlit.go.jp/road/ir/ir-council/roundabout/pdf01/4.pdf
Interesting that according to this document the UK first introduced roundabouts in the 1960s, and came up with formal guidelines in 1993. As a driver I appreciate the benefits to traffic flow; but I find them petrifying in heavy traffic on a bike. But better than stopping at the millions of lights in Japan.
Graham

Interesting that according to this document the UK first introduced roundabouts in the 1960s, and came up with formal guidelines in 1993.

Britain was very liberally strewn with roundabouts by the 1970s; and from the PoV of a regular car driver (I don't say that of an ambulance driver), most worked pretty well. (As a cyclist with hindsight and without a teenager's raging testosterone, I'm appalled by the way I used to brake minimally and barrel around roundabouts in my parents' car.)

The Wikipedia article on roundabouts looks like a labour of love; but I can even more strongly recommend Joe Moran's book On roads: A hidden history. (NB it's only about British roads.)

Japan already has roundabouts they just aren't very common. There are two in Yokohama that I know of, but I can only see this as a positive thing.

They are great for cars but Russian roulette for cyclists.