What's new

Road vs Hybrid (Cross) bike and trying 183cm size bikes

Phillipsc1

Warming-Up
May 10, 2020
Hi,

Have been cycling much more this year - 7km commute each way, plus pleasure cycling (sometimes cycling about 40KM a day round trip). Currently use a very cheap 25,000 yen (new) bike, which is half cross / half mam chari.

Looking to buy a new bike, intend mainly to cycle in the city and at the moment don't intend to do much long distance - maybe 15 - 20KM one way (though going to Shonan coast seems appealing).

Wondering given this usage profile which bike type suits me best? I have never tried a road bike before so wondered how the visibility is impacted (I like to enjoy views / looking around) and also the comfortableness of drop style handlebars and riding position. Also sometimes I may need a small bag - I know cross bikes have options for adding rear racks - not sure if feasible for road bikes.

However I do enjoy going fast, and do pedal pretty fast on my current bike, so wonder if road bike would be better. I managed to try a Cross bike (Trek FX3 Disc) my size in the Trek Aoyama store, but I cant see anywhere that has my size to test a road bike my size to get a feel for its suitability for me, looking to spend around 100,000.

Any thoughts on both type of bike, and also stores that I could test a road bike (I am based in Shibuya / Shinjuku, so if anyone could let me borrow there bike for even a ten minute run that would also be great!).

"Road bikes" come in different varieties.
Of course marketing has created all kinds of terms to convince you that new stuff is coming out... but it has always existed.

Geometry is typically "Race", "endurance", or "touring" - there are tons more, but overall - those encompass most bikes.