Speeding Up
Jun 6, 2007
I've made more mistakes than I care to remember when buying seemingly simple,
straightforward items of cycling equipment (oh minipumps, let me count the ways
you suck). Thus if anyone has advice on a good floor pump or a good bike bag,
I'd be grateful to hear it.

David

I bought a regular floor pump.

http://www.serfas.com/pumps/index_pumps.shtml FP100 discontinued?

And modified it by cutting off the nozzle attachment and re-fitting it with a brass lever clenching valve that holds onto the tube valves like Super man.

pumphdA.jpg

http://www.jitensha.com/eng/hiramepumphds.html

Been going strong for over 4 years now...

the brass attachment was almost ast expensive as the pump.

All up about 6000 yen.

My bike bag is not as nice as some I saw at Okutama so I'll let others talk about those...

bags 'n' pumps!

Bike bags, short of flight cases I have no experience so I too would welcome some advice before the Fuji Hill Climb.
At home in the UK there is no need for a bag, I either throw the bike on the carrier hanging on the back end of the 'motor' or drop the rear seats and lay the bike in the back, easy! 9/10 I hop on and pedal:D 20 mins later out in the open countryside....beautiful:cool:
As for floor pumps........I've been caught out with the bargain basement prices on offer on'tinternet:mad: Trust your local bike shop, listen to their advice and then spend as much as you can afford. Currently using, and have been for a while, a Beto track pump, retails between 30-40 GBP, effortless 110 psi everytime (running 95psi due to the elavated temperatures in Japan at the moment to avoid blow outs) no leaks and simple to use.

Floor pump vs Mini-pump...

I have a standard floor pump with the original valve connection - (not a well-known brand "ESSS"), but it pumps up without any problems to over 8Bars/115psi.