Re-intro - Moving to Yokohama Soon!

bloaker

Maximum Pace
Nov 14, 2011
Miura, Japan
Hello Everyone!
I am back! I was a little active here back in the wintertime, however recently life has been very busy.

After 3 long years, my wife and I got married Aug 4th. I will be moving to Yokohama in the next week or two. My plan is to try an take it slow. Move, get acclimated to not only Japan, but married life.

I am a mountain biker deep down. I have been on fat tires for a long long while. I used to work in a bike shop in the late 90s and loved working for a small shop. When I graduated college, I was offered a much higher paying job with a bigger bike company... a little over a year later, I hated the bicycle industry and never looked back. I have been working with software ever since. Amazing how a corporate 'business first' attitude can kill someone's love for working in a bike shop. I loved sharing my hobby with others and could not wait to get more people out and riding with me...

I do ride just about anything. I have a Salsa Fargo that I enjoy riding with my wife. The bike is fantastic, but does not inspire me to go fast. It is my favorite bike simply due to the comfort factor.

I have a cross bike. I bought it when I was commuting to work. 10km each way was a perfect commute. In the morning, I would take it easy to not get sweaty and in the afternoons, I could cut though a mountain bike trail and just skip all the jumps. The cross bike did perfect. I was hoping for a bullet proof road bike, and for commuting this fit the bill. I have entered in two races with it. One was an unsanctioned cross race that involved a 'whiskey' shortcut. The other race was a Mountain Cross. I enjoyed both, however I will win none! I am a mid pack rider at best.