Johan from Belgium moving to Tokyo soon

Johank

Warming-Up
Mar 30, 2018
11
5
3
49
#1
hello all,

I am Johan from Belgium and started biking 7 yrs ago (I wish I started much earlier but better late then never). I am 49 yrs old but I feel much younger .

I will move to Tokyo from May onwards, my family will join me during August. I will stay here for min 2yrs and max 5yrs.
I love grandfondo’s, did several ones in Belgium, France and Italy. I love to ride in the mountains although I am not a real Climber, more the typical Belgium Flemish cyclist being rather good on the flat and short climbs.

The last 3 yrs I have been riding around 12.000 km/yr .... this will be less moving to Japan since I will need to balance better between work / family / cycling, however I hope to continue to ride 6 - 8.000 km /yr once settled in. I am riding as well in the virtual world (Zwift) mainly during winter time and late evenings

You can find me on Strava!
https://www.strava.com/athletes/10408353

I don’t know yet where in Tokyo I will live. Next wk is pre-visit with the family to look for international schools. The first 3 months I will live in Ikebukuro and will look for housing once we have made choice of the school.

I would love to join Some group rides (early morning or weekend). All advice appreciated ! I plan to bring my bike with me from May onwards.

I speak Dutch, English, French, a little German and a little Swedish.

Thanks in advance for all your feedback!
Hope to meet Some of you on a ride or upcoming event soon !
 

leicaman

Maximum Pace
Sep 20, 2012
2,535
2,213
133
Asakadai, Saitama
#3
Welcome. Keep you eye out in the ride section for upcoming rides. Hopefully there will be more posted as the warmer weather brings the cyclists out. I ride mainly in the north of Saitama where there are some great roads. The Arakawa river isn’t too far from Ikebukuro and is a good way to get out of the city (although I suppose you may well end up living somewhere else on the city).