What's new

Hello from Kamata, Ota city

Sylvr

Warming-Up
Aug 18, 2020
Aspiring cyclist currently strolling around Tokyo for 20-40 km rides on Mama-chari ;)
Biking really helped me to get out of Corona depression. and I really want to extend my biking adventures.
It's great I found this community of cyclists in Tokyo. I hope I can find likeminded people around my place.

Few things going in my mind currently is
- weather to buy road or cross bike? (I have a 70,000 yen budget, so please recommend something _/\_)
- I am a newbie to camping but really wanna do bikepacking (already bought a tent and a sleeping bag). And since around Tokyo it's hard to find a place to camp and the campsites are kinda crowded and expensive, where can I find more camping friendly and close to nature places?

Thanks in advance and I'm glad to join this community :)

GrantT

Maximum Pace
Oct 2, 2012
Hi Sylvr,

GIANT bike stores let you test ride a range of bikes. https://giant-store.jp/store_list/?area_id=2
It's probably a good way to test out and compare a road bike and cross bike.

Road bikes are usually more expensive, though an entry level aluminium framed road bike can be had on your budget second hand.

Dunno about bikepacking in Tokyo. All I know is nature starts getting real out past Hachioji.

kiwisimon

Maximum Pace
Dec 14, 2006
Welcome, you can head to the coast as well. Stealth camping with a hammock is something to look at. Won't need a tent or a sleeping bag that way. well maybe from October onwards a thin sleeping bag. Izu Peninsular is reachable from Tokyo and has a relaxed vibe.

Karl

Maximum Pace
Feb 7, 2011
If you plan to do a lot of bikepacking, consider a gravel bike. Usually they have more fittings for racks and bottles that you'll want for backpacking (and commuting). More relaxed geometry, too. Don't know what's out there in the 70k range though.

Omar

Warming-Up
Aug 19, 2020