Hello from Chiba

candycandy

Warming-Up
Jul 2, 2010
Chiba-Japan
Hello!

Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself to this board.

My name is Takeo, as you can guess I am Japanese, but lived in States since 1989... just got back to Japan last March.

I've been riding bike since 3 years old as most Japanese would do, and picked up my first 'real' MTB at 16, my first year in US. It was a red GT MTB, I still have a picture of it...

I've been riding off and on since then, but with football and american food, I gained a lot of weight and biking became more of a pain than joy...

Anyways, fast forward 2 decades, here I am, back in Japan.
I started riding again last year, with Cannondale Quick 4 as my first bike, then GF Supercaliber, then I thought 29'er would be cool, and picked up Gary Fisher Rig Single Speed.

I wasn't really into road bikes, since all of my days in US was in the deep south (Arkansas, South Carolina, and Tennessee) so riding a road bike wasn't really an option.

Anyways, I currently live in Chiba, (Kamagaya-city to be exact) and trying to find some group to ride with.
I finally found a good shop who does a lot of events: I joined one and it was a blast. Anyone living close to this area, I'd recommend to come join us on our next outing !!

(the shop HP is http://www.jitensha-kan.com/ all in Japanese, but I'll be happy to translate any for you)

Also, I work right by the Tokyo station, so if there's any get together around here (like, visiting shops), please let me know, I'd love to come along and learn from you.

Anyways, looking forward to hear and hopefully ride with you.

Regards

Takeo Sonoi (handlename: candycandy)

p.s. Candycandy is my WOW name I used... anyone here played WOW? I used to play in Thunderlord..... :D

kiwisimon

Maximum Pace
Dec 14, 2006
Japan
Welcome to TCC. How do you like the SS rig? I live up here in Aomori but do a bit of off road SS. Cheers Simon in Aomori.

candycandy

Warming-Up
Jul 2, 2010
Chiba-Japan