What's new

heart rate zones

jdd

Maximum Pace
Hardest Crash
Jul 26, 2008
((caution: I'm new to this, so understand that I'm speaking from ignorance))

I've been browsing around the web on this, and (apart from extremes) it all looks pretty mushy and unclear. There seems to be a generic disclaimer that you either need to get tested right (thoroughly/completely), or you take a given calculator's "results" with a grain of salt and adjust your level up or down depending on how you feel...

And there are people who have posted here, such as: https://tokyocycle.com/bbs/threads/today-september-2013.4837/page-3#post-69904

Also, I've looked at calculators such as at: http://www.digifit.com/heartratezones/maximum-heart-rate.asp?Age=62#table

Or: http://www.digifit.com/heartratezones/training-zones.asp?MaxHR=170&Age=62&RHR=65

I think the numbers I put in those will come thru in the links, but in the 2nd link MaxHR could be lower by 10 bpm from 170, depending on the chosen formula. (220-62=158)

The reason I've been looking at this is that I've started using a trainer (besides ongoing swimming). All well and good, and I'm satisfied with those things, but when I look a little more and try to judge what I maybe should be doing, or try to align what I'm doing with the numbers, I'm puzzled by the numbers.

On the trainer, I've been doing sessions like 30min+30, 40+20-25, or 45 straight. No variation in difficulty (no intervals), just what I can maintain for that long. It depends how I've been pushing, but at the end of any time period I'm usually close to 150bpm, and sometimes 156. Which would seem to be zone 4 or even 5, depending on which maxHR calculation system is used. I try to hold a cadence of 85, but usually slip back to 80 or a little less.