Greetings

papachari

Warming-Up
Sep 5, 2011
Okayama
Hi,

just wanted to say I'm really happy to be part of this forum. I'm a novice and a rider for pleasure as opposed to a keirin master. I'm really looking forward to learning about some great rides. Hopefully I can pencil in a few in West Japan as that is where I am based.

I've got a young family, so finding time to ride has been tricky, but hopefully I can get energized with all the posts here and rediscover my inner Randonneur.

My bike is a Calamita Due. It's a simple racer, bit old school with shifters on the down tube. It's my first road bike and the thing I love about it is the power efficiency and economy of movement. Nothing seems wasted. I could go fast, but it just makes me want to go smooth.

Really want to learn more about maintenance as learning about the mechanics seems the best way to learn how to care for and get the most out of your bike.

I find myself thinking about my bike far too often, but I don't mind that...

Looking forward to reading and posting.

All the Best

Tim

papachari

Warming-Up
Sep 5, 2011
Okayama
Cheers

Hi there,

thanks for the reply. Okayama City has been home for the past 10 years. Going to ride the Shimanami Kaido across the bridges to Shikoku in the next month. Want to spend some time planning and take in some interesting towns along the way.

I ride about 150km a week commuting, but need to get out on those mountain roads and explore a bit more...

Tim

May 22, 2007
Kawasaki
halffastcycling.com
Going to ride the Shimanami Kaido across the bridges to Shikoku in the next month. Want to spend some time planning and take in some interesting towns along the way.
It's a really nice trip. If you can, take two days and really explore the islands.

On Ikuchijima, the Kosanji temple and it's outdoor sculpture museum is worth a look. As is the adjacent loop around very quiet Takaneshima.