What's new

Frame Size

NessOvi

Warming-Up
Jun 3, 2019
Hello, I am a newbie and I was just wondering what is the correct frame size for a 184cm guy? Cause I have a 500mm frame right now and I've read online it should be about 570mm. I just want to clarify, thanks!

50 cm is way, way, way too small, several sizes in fact. I reckon 56-58 cm would be a good starting point, but you need to take into account arm and leg length. For example, I have long arms, so I need a larger frame than my body height would suggest (1,78 m) and a longer stem. So you should test ride different sizes — if you can, I know that this is very tricky in Japan. At most demo events the largest size they have is usually 54 cm, though.

For reference, I am 188cm.
I ride between a 58 & 61cm frame (depending on manufacturer).
Height can only ballpark your size. Like said before, you can use a bike fit calculator to figure out a little better.
Your proportions, flexibility, preferences and even your purpose will give you different size frames.
My old commuter was a 56 CX bike. It gave me a position to better see traffic.

I'm 182cm and ride a 56 road bike. It's fine for me.

If you live in Tokyo, I'd go to Y's Road for a basic fit. It's only a 1000 yen and you get your money back if you buy a bike from them. Other proper bike shops will be able to do something sImilar.

I'd go further tha @stu_kawagoe: I wouldn't buy a bike from a shop that doesn't do a bike fit. Proper fit is so much more important than frame material, groupset or wheels.

Thanks for the replies! I will definitely take this into account when buying my next bike. Since I just bought the 500mm frame one lol...

I'm 182cm and ride a 56 road bike. It's fine for me.

If you live in Tokyo, I'd go to Y's Road for a basic fit. It's only a 1000 yen and you get your money back if you buy a bike from them. Other proper bike shops will be able to do something sImilar.