Help Creaking sound from drive-side BB area

j-sworks

Maximum Pace
Feb 5, 2012
Tokyo
So I have been noticing this creaking sound for a few months now and yesterday it became more pronounced. I was applying pressure to the bike this morning to determine where the sound is coming from, pushed down on the seat and I got the sound so I pressured the seat alone and the rails are not the culprit, so I figured it must be the BB, however when I push down on the non-drive side pedal the creaking sound will not happen - when I give the drive side a good push Disco! the creaking sound.

Can the issue be the BB if only one side is producing the creaking sound? and why do I get the creaking sound when I push down on the seat, which should distribute pressure right down the middle, but not from the non-drive side?

GSAstuto

Maximum Pace
Oct 11, 2009
tokyo
www.roadfixie.com
These can be a real bee-atch to deal with.

1) Unless you use a unitized, isolated bearing set (like the Sugino) , make sure you properly prepped the bearing housing and use Locktite 680 retaining compound. If you use the Locktite 'prep', this stuff will bond and seal the bearings to nearly non-removable state, so use carefully. Otherwise, use Locktite 242 or you can even use general purpose CA glue (I like the gel type)

2) I use a very small amount of teflon grease on the splines. More so to prevent galling and distortion than anything. I rarely use grease- it's not a good idea to use 'grease' on either tapered or splined fitting - instead use a teflon based lubricant. I hate to call it lubricant - cause that's not its real purpose - its more intended to prevent surfaces from contacting under pressure to 'gall' or 'weld'. So you can torque it to spec and ensure a smooth, tight fit without 'hot spots'.