What's new

Scicon AeroComfort Plus Bag シーコン エアロコンフォートプラス

theDude

Maximum Pace
Oct 7, 2011
Thought I'd post up my experience today with packing up my bike in my recently procured Scicon Aero Comfort Plus bag. I ordered this from a place in Chiba called サイクルハウスジロ via amazon. I would have preferred to save a few thousand yen off of a rakuten vendor but they didn't have it in stock and wasn't sure it would get here in time. The サイクルハウスジロ folks got it here in a day (wasn't even an Amazon Prime option!).

So happy that I got it. Found it mildly amusing that the bombproof bag came in a box that said "Fragile" and "this side up", but whatever. Bit disappointed that there were no instructions. Not a huge deal, I mean, I'm an engineer (technically), but still, seeing some basic diagrams of what was supposed to do what would have been nice. Fortunately, didn't take a lot of time to figure out, and it's not like after building some ikea furniture or something and having leftover bolts and parts.

The only thing to do was to put the sliding fork attachment on. It's not fixed, just slides in, the bike itself holds it in place. Kit also came with 2 foam pads for the forks and some extra velcro pads for where the handlebars are. also came with the front and rear pins to hold the bike in place.

Packing the bike.... Was a bit of a hassle getting wheels off and trying to hold the bike and align with the metal frame of the bag. I ended up going forks first and then moving that forward a bit to fit the rear. Eventually got it in and then it's gravy!

b6f31fd5.jpg

fbe20d49.jpg

Here you can see the piece that serves as a derailleur protector. Looks like it would work, I suppose.

f684d3bb.jpg

I am mildly worried about this part sticking out past the edge of the frame. It's all going to be enclosed in the zipper, but wondering if I should fasten it so it is a bit more forward. Hmm.

22e767ab.jpg

Nice sleeves for the wheels. Gives the bag a bit of structure as well, which is nice.