What's new

My First Bike Build pt1

macrophotofly

Maximum Pace
Aug 27, 2012
"Okay so I used build cars before now, how hard can a bike be?" Hmmm good question and one I am about to find out. I'm a complete NOOB at bike building, only going as far as cleaning my chain before and fitting the odd light/saddle.
And if you don't mind, I've decided to bring you all along for the ride.....

At the weekend I ordered all the parts as I knew my frame was arriving today. And here she is -
p1510340640-3.jpg

And there's a little secret that took me a while to negotiate direct from Boardman
p1510340700-2.jpg

Its the new 2013 Di frame which hasn't been officially released yet.

Here's my first challenge - the BB.
p1510342708-2.jpg

Its a BB30 and I need to
i) Find a LBS near me (Ichigaya/Shinjuku) with skilled chap to pay them to fit the bearings as I don't have a head press (any suggestions, please?)
ii) Work out if I need to the fit the Di2 wires before the bearings

Yeah, sort the Di2 cables out first!!!

Also, you will defo need to get someone to press the bearings in, preferably using some of that sticky Wakos grease that has just been released, on the cups, and waterproof grease on the bearings.

Don't get silly and attempt to whack it in yourself.

Its a BB30 and I need to
i) Find a LBS near me (Ichigaya/Shinjuku) with skilled chap to pay them to fit the bearings as I don't have a head press (any suggestions, please?)
ii) Work out if I need to the fit the Di2 wires before the bearings

The person that I most trust with BB30 is out in Chiba in the Matsudo area, Sato Shige-san of SpaceBikes. Perhaps a bit far, but he is an absolute top notch mechanic!

Yeah, defo go somewhere good like the place Pete said. Worth travelling to get it installed properly; stuff of this level and price needs to be handled by a mechanic who knows what s/he is doing.

OwenJames said:
Yeah, sort the Di2 cables out first!!!